You're reading...
Uncategorized

Christianity Quiz

Not too long ago I came a cross a website called Changing the Face of Christianity.  Their stated mission is to “[Reverse] Christian intolerance, hypocrisy, homophobia, judgmentalism, and other negative Christian stereotypes, by helping Christians to be more like Jesus Christ.”  I haven’t yet looked at all the content of their website, but I like what I’ve seen so far.  I have to say as well that I’ve been hoping to see something like this for a long time.  I know that being a Christian in the world can be tough, we are human after all.  Still, I think that when someone professes to be a Christian, particularly to those outside the faith, they become (at least for a short time) an emissary of Christianity.  Those non-believers will more often than not judge all of Christendom based on the speech and actions of the Christian they are talking with.  This is why it is so important for us to practice what we preach.  The bad news is that we are going to fail.  We will all fall short of the glory of God, but the important thing is that we keep trying, that we show the world through our repeated efforts that Christ loves the world, and that we should love him and each other just as much.

Another interesting thing I came across on the website was a Christianity quiz.  This I don’t fully agree with, since I don’t think an online quiz can be all that accurate in telling you how ‘good’ of a Christian you are.  I see the reasoning behind it though, and though I doubt it’s very penetrating and deep in looking at your faith, I do think it can at least reveal some bad habits we might have that we should change to better ourselves in our walk with God.  I know when I took it at least certain questions hit a little close to home.  But don’t take it from me, try it for yourself and see how you score.  The link is below…

The Christianity Quiz 

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Christianity Quiz

  1. Wellll, I took the quiz, and I rated a “good” Christian. And, it did give me some good ideas for my continued growth as a Christian. However, I would also agree that it’s just a gadget to get you thinking about what you can do better. As with anything of this nature, it doesn’t account for the perspective that you answer the questions from. I do like the site though. As Christians, we all have a firm duty to try a negate the negativity surrounding Christianity by modeling the right behaviors…i.e. love God with all your heart, and mind, love your neighbor as yourself, turn the other cheek…all that really good stuff that gets lost in the dogma

    Posted by goddoglover | June 29, 2011, 11:13 AM
    • I also took the quiz, and let’s just say I have room for improvement. But I like it for what it is; a reminder of the different areas of my life where I need to be more focused in doing the right thing. I agree though, we should all probably focus more on the ‘core’ issues of Christianity.

      Posted by Jordon Fletcher | June 29, 2011, 12:27 PM

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers

Monthly Archives

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share
Submit my blog Society