You're reading...
Uncategorized

Preamble

Before we get off on the wrong foot, let me take a few minutes to set things straight.  The purpose of my writing isn’t to throw around divisive rhetoric, I think that there’s enough of that going on already.  Instead I want to provide an opportunity for Christians and non-Christians alike to better understand both each other and their own beliefs.  While I don’t think that there’s any shortage of Christian literature out there (for both believers and non-believers) I still come across people almost daily on both sides of the theological fence who can’t empathize with the opposing viewpoint and find it easiest to make over-hasty generalizations while hurling flaming invectives. 

Christians who ignorantly insult and mock non-believers bother me just as much as non-believers who do the same to Christians, maybe even more so, and so I’ve thought about this for a long time.  I think in most cases problems like these result from a lack of understanding between parties which leads to anger and maybe even hatred (and also the Dark Side of the Force). 

So like I said I want to create the opportunity for Christians and non-Christians to better understand one another.  To help those who aren’t part of the faith understand Christian beliefs, and to address many of their long-standing questions about contradictions, problems, and inconsistencies in Christianity.  Conversely, I hope to give Christians a better idea of a non-Christian worldview, to question their faith and have it emerge stronger for it.  If you have a question you’d like me to (attempt to) answer, please leave a comment and I may address it in one of my posts.  Or if it’s a more personal matter, feel free to let me know and I’ll send you an email.

Unfortunately, what I won’t be able to do is please everyone, though even if I could I suspect I wouldn’t want to.  Now having had my say read on, but remember, caveat emptor.

Discussion

One thought on “Preamble

  1. Unfortunately Christians themselves give loving Christians a bad rap. Jesus came to teach us to love one another, forgive each other and hate the sin, but love the sinner. When we, as Christians, respond in a negative way to someone looking for an answer we would be much better to respond with love instead of anger or hate. We would be able to gain warriors for Christ by showing them our love that we have gained through Christ himself and try to pass on some of His loving attributes.

    Posted by Judy | April 21, 2011, 6:13 PM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Monthly Archives

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share
Submit my blog Society
